top of page
SIN & SOUL.jpg

Finding A New Friend: Oscar Brown, Jr. & Luiz Henrique

Label: Fontana ‎– MGF-27549


Oscar Brown was one of the first US jazz singers to promote Brazilian music. Finding A New Friend is made with Brazilian singer-songwriter Luiz Henrique. The two met and forged a friendship when they shared a dressing room, appearing at the Cafe Au Go-Go in New York’s Greenwich Village. Brown’s quote on the album tells: “We then used our mutual respect and personal friendship as a basis for our collaborations.” This includes a wicked version of Edu Lobo's “Reza,” recorded as "Laia Ladaia".


  1. Laia Ladaia (Lye-uh Li-dye-uh)

  2. Nothin' But A Fool

  3. Manha De Carnaval (Morning Of The Carnival) (Theme From "Black Orpheus")

  4. Much As I Love You

  5. I Had No Idea

  6. Wham! Bam! Thank You Mam!

  7. Finding A New Friend

  8. Dawn Comes Again

  9. Listen To Me

  10. The Answer To My Prayer

  11. Seeing Maria

  12. Barra Limpa (Ba-ha Leem-pa)

00:00 / 03:08
bottom of page